Top 5 of...

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

top5wednesday

It’s time for another top 5 Wednesday! Another week has passed, way too fast for my taste, and this week the topic is Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone.  Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by Lainey from  gingerreadslainey, and is hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to take a look at the Goodreads group, and perhaps even want to join, you can click this link.

Here are this week’s guidelines:
“These are books that you enjoyed that aren’t something you typically read. For example, nonfiction if you usually read fiction, contemporary if you usually read fantasy, etc. etc. They do not all have to be from the same genre, just an assortment of books outside your usual genre of choice.”

Now, here’s my problem. I don’t usually tend to go and read out of my comfort zone (that’s why they call it a comfort zone, yes… I know). There are, however, some exceptions. Normally I read fantasy, historical fiction (preferably about the middle ages, at tops 19th century) or romancy kind of novels. I do like history and other books, but I don’t read them to often. So here is my T5W: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone.

  1. A Dangerous Journey Home by Hugh ThomsonA DANGEROUS JOURNEY HOME

    This book is historical fiction, yes, but it’s not the time period I’m accustomed to. Like I already mentioned I usually read historical fiction up until the 19th century, this book is set in the twentieth century and it’s about the war in Vietnam. I’m not usually drawn to these kind of books, but when the author approached me I decided to give it a shot. I’m so glad I did.
    I think that anyone with an interest in historical fiction set in the twentieth century should read this book and even if you have doubts, just go for it. (My review of this book is linked to the title).

  2. Plays of Shakespeare (I count this as one because I’ve had to read several of his plays for my studies this year).
    Twelfth night was one of the plays I had to read. Even though it was somewhat complicated to follow, I thought it was hilarious (see cartoon thingy above). I also discovered that the film She’s the man was based on this play!
    I also had to read The Tempest and Othello, both were quite enjoyable.
    So, why is this out of my comfort zone? I study English, this should be in my zone (or something like that). Well, I don’t usually like plays and I had no intention in reading one, until I realised the brilliance of Shakespeare.
  3. Showdown at Little Big Horn by Dee Brown

    It was some time ago that I read this book, it was during my try at becoming a history teacher, and it is quite outside my comfort zone. Like I already said; I like history, but I don’t usually read about it. Furthermore, if I read history, it’s often about Europe (bad Cindy). I read this book because we had a class about America and for an assignment. This was so damn realistic… It really hit me (yes it also fell on my face, but that was a different hitting). After this I wanted to try Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee, but after 50 pages I couldn’t make myself read on. I’ll try that one another time.
  4. Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer

    Yeey, again a book I had to read for class this year! (like I said… I don’t usually read books out of my comfort zone…) I read most of the tales in the original Middle English and, to be honest, I never thought I would have such a good time reading this. This guy was brilliant! He was a genius and his writing is just great! The way he used his characters as representatives of groups in the society was absolutely genius.
  5. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

    I would’ve never read this book if my boyfriend hadn’t bought it for me (and I thank him for doing so). You see, I love fantasy, but don’t particularly like science fiction. Why? I have absolutely no idea, but I am just not drawn to it. So, I was a bit indecisive about whether I should read this book, or not. Most of the people I spoke to were so enthusiastic about it though, and when my boyfriend gave me the book… well… I had to.
    It was more fun than I could’ve imagined and I’m really glad that I gave this particular science fiction book a chance.


This was my T5W: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone. Have you read any books out of your comfort zone? If yes; tell me more about them! If no; you give those books a shot! Some might be worth it after all 😉

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

