Awards and Tags

Mid-Year-Book-Freak-Out-Tag

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was tagged by Jill from Rant and Rave About Books, and by Fadwa from Word Wonders. I am so excited to do this tag ๐Ÿ™‚ If you don’t know who Jill or Fadwa is, then go and check out their blogs this instant!

Best Book Youโ€™ve Read Yet in 2016

It was so hard to decide which book I thought was the best so far!
However, in the end, I really (really) liked this book, a lot.

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson was everything I could have hoped for in a first part of a series. (If you click the link, you’re browser will open a new window featuring my review) It was original, fun, and there were even reading/activity pages at the end!

and drawings… there were drawings… very important.

Best Sequel Youโ€™ve Read So Far in 2016

28511772

It was a difficult decision to make, but in the end I pick The Flood by Steven Scaffardi as my best sequel so far!

โ€œI carefully tried to navigate the phone out of my pocket without inappropriately touching any of the people who were cramped around me, but of course all I succeeded in doing was brushing my hand down the back of the bald guy in a completely unintentionally seductive way.โ€

It was so fun to read! I was nearly dying of laughter most of the time while reading this book.

 

26863057

New Release You Havenโ€™t Read Yet But Want To

I’d love to read Age of Myth. It sounds awesome and I really do like that kind of thing.

I’ve read some reviews about it, but if I have the chance I’d read it in a heartbeat.

 

 

8074907

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

Most definitely The Thorn of Emberlain by Scott Lynch! I really lived the first three books of this series, and so I can’t wait to read part 4!

 

 

 

Biggest Disappointment

I don’t think that I’ve read a book that disappointed me. Of some I had expected something else from the start, so that was partially my fault. I guess that if I’d have to name my biggest disappointment, it would be Iron Inheritance. I was promised a lot and, at the time, I wasn’t sure if I got what I was promised. Mind though that this wasn’t the worst book I read! (Not by a long shot) But it was my biggest disappointment this first half of 2016.

28245002

Biggest Surprise

The Warlock and the Wolf was the biggest surprise of this year! I often feel a bit conflicted about books that are set in my own country, but this was just great!

I was able to see nearly everything right there in front of me (though that is not too hard because a lot of places in The Hague are still quite like they would have looked in the 17th century). The detail was beautiful and I couldnโ€™t possibly let this book go for any longer than was absolutely necessary.

Favorite New Author

I don’t yet have a favorite new author. I’m sorry, but I simply cannot choose. I’ve read so many amazing books by great authors this first half year, I can’t possibly make a choice.

5b9a0-dan

Newest Fictional Crush

Poor Dan Hilles from The Drought and The Flood by Steven Scaffardi. He’s just the best. He has to deal with so much and he simply lives through it!

 

Newest Favorite Character

26015921

Kendrick the Cold! An infamous crusader in the east, but now a fugitive, a man with a dark past who knows he is no hero.He was  badass, but had his own past, which made him a really interesting character. He was so aware of his passed action, of how people regarded him, and when it was needed he owned it all to become one awesome guy!

 

 

Book That Made You Cry

Better to ask what book didn’t make me cry.. really I’m just one big cry-baby all the way. I cry when I’m glad, I cry when I’m sad, I even cry when people start weeping on the telly…

26015921

Book That Made You Happy

That book would be Fire & Sword by Dylan Doose. It was a great read.
There was suspense, action, drama, funny scenes, rather gruesome horrible scenes, character development, and maybe even future nightmares of scary human/rat like creatures. All in all I think that this was great, I could have read it in one way if I had had the time.

 

Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

Look! There’s someone walking their cat! (avoids questions since I haven’t actually been to any movies lately except for Deadpool and Warcraft).

Favorite Post You Have Done This Year

I definitely loved doing The 50 Questions Tag!

Most Beautiful Book Youโ€™ve Bought This Year

I haven’t bought any books this year… I got them for free ^_^ But I just got a real pretty jewel from a friend of mine, containing the sonnets of Shakespeare ๐Ÿ˜€

What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year

… No comment? But, to give one example, I have to read The Thorn of Emberlain. Have to.


This was my Mid-Year-Book-Freak-Out! Do you have the strong urge to do this tag? Then, consider yourself tagged ^_^ What is the most beautiful book you added to your collection so far? Leave a comment and let me know ๐Ÿ™‚

17 thoughts on “Mid-Year-Book-Freak-Out-Tag

      1. Until recently I had never read High Fantasy (that’s what his books are right ?) And I thought his books were to hefty for a beginner, I’ll start soon though. But yeah as you said, priorities ๐Ÿ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. We’ve got so many books in common for some strange reason ;). I also want to read Age of Myth btw. And also not because of the cover. In fact, I saw it on NetGalley a while ago and thought about requesting it (even though I don’t have time to squeeze in any more books ^^) but then thought, meh, *looks at cover* I should probably save this spot for something REALLY awesome. Of course, after reading the reviews on it afterwards, I can just facepalm myself over and over. So yeah, when are we going to read it?! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woah just realised I haven’t seen any adaptations this year either. Have I even gone to the cinema this year? ๐Ÿ˜‚ Oh yeah The Jungle Book! And ay that’s originally a book ๐Ÿ˜› Look at that I did see one haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

