Top 5 of...

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences

top5wednesday

It’s time for another top 5 Wednesday! Another week has passed, and this week the topic is Favourite First Sentences.  Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by Lainey from  gingerreadslainey, and is hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to take a look at the Goodreads group, and perhaps even want to join, you can click this link. I haven’t been that active doing the Top 5 lately, mostly because I am just crazy busy with work, social life (necessary evil), and just going places 😀

So, today’s topic is one I can absolutely work with! I’m always very fond of first sentences, and I’ve read a couple of great ones. So, here is my Top 5 Favourite First Sentences (in no particular order). These sentences are my favourite because they’ve set the perfect tone for the rest of the book, what they promised came true.

  1. First one up is *tension building and stuff*:

“Place ten dozen hungry orphan thieves in a dank burrow of vaults and tunnels beneath what used to be a graveyard, put them under the supervision of one partly crippled old man, and you will soon find that governing them becomes a delicate business.”- Prologue

This is the first sentence of the prologue of The Republic f Thieves by Scott Lynch. Being the third part in the series, I already had some expectation of course, but this first sentence was still very good.

2. Second one is the first line of Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson. I absolutely adore his writing, but this sentence was just hilarious.

It’s funny, Vasher thought, how many things begin with me getting thrown into prison.”

3. Third one on my list is this one:

“There’s a certain sound the human head makes when it hits the trunk of a tree” – Chapter 1.

This is the first sentence of A Devil in the Details by K. A. Steward. It really gives a hint about the sense of humour in book. (Something else with pink fluffy bunny demons or something, was in there too if I remember correctly).

4. My fourth favourite first sentence is from The Diamond Throne by David Eddings, who is an absolutely amazing writer. I hope I’m not cheating, the real first sentence is only three words long, so I am putting the second one right behind it. This really sets the mood of the book, and I think it’s just beautifully described.

“It was raining. A soft, silver drizzle sifted down out of the night sky and wreathed around the blocky watchtowers of the city of Cimmura, hissing in the torches on each side of the broad gate and making the stones of the road leading up to the city shiny and black. ” – Chapter 1.

5. Last, but not least:

“No one who had ever seen Catherine Morland in her infancy, would have supposed her born to be an heroine.”

This lovely first line is from Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen, and after that come a couple of pages filled with how she is exactly unlike a heroine. I really like this first sentence because it sounds so dramatic.


 

Oh my, this post is over so fast… such a shame. Aw well, there is next week! It’ll all be fine ^_^ In the mean time, what is your top 5 of favourite first sentences? Or do you have that one sentence that you think is absolutely amazing?

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite First Sentences

  1. That line to The Republic Of Thieves gives me epic fantasy vibes!!! I just added it to my TBR! along with Lies of Locklemore & some others, I think I’m building up my TBR for Fantasy reads rather quickly. My favorite line is from The Night Circus:

    “The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree the ‘Tale of Two Cities’ sentence is a good one, so is that from ‘The Night Circus’.
    But for sheer humour, I think this takes some beating: ‘The education bestowed on Flora Poste by her parents had been expensive, athletic and prolonged; and when they died within a few weeks of one another during the annual epidemic of the influenza or Spanish Plague which occurred in her twentieth year, she was discovered to possess every art and grace save that of earning her own living.’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

