Top 5 of...

Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

top5wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by Lainey from  gingerreadslainey, and is hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to take a look at the Goodreads group, and perhaps even want to join, you can click this link.

Another week has passed. Most of us already survived half a week of work/school related things, yeeey us right? But, even survivors are allowed to have a little bit of fun once in a while. This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is about Books That Took You the Longest to Finish. The rules are quite simple: These are the books that you had on your nightstand “in progress” for months or years. The books that you took weeks to read because they put you in a slump. Those books that were an uphill battle. These are books you started and actually read, not books you’ve just had on your shelf the longest.  Like I said, quite simple indeed.
So, be prepared for a post filled with dislike, love-hate relationships, tears and wishing I could burn some books right on the spot. (The cover images are all from Goodreads :))

6182411. Terry Goodkind: Wizard’s First Rule.
Where do I even begin… Alright, here we go.
I read this book after I saw the series. In this case, I did like the series and so I thought ‘Well, nine out of ten times the books are better anyway, so how can this possibly go wrong?’. Some people absolutely love this book and the rest of the series, but I simply didn’t.
It took me two months of cursing, thinking of not finishing it, complaining to my friends about my dislike of this book. It wasn’t even close to sunshine and rainbows, I can assure you that. In the end, I did finish it… but only just… The dragon was awesome though!

478927

2. Steven Erikson: Deadhouse Gates.
This is the best example I could give for a love-hate relationship with a book.
I absolutely loved the book. The whole story, history, and writing. The problem was this: it took me roughly 4 months to finish it. Why? Because it was roughly a thousand pages long, and I felt like I had already read a hundred pages after only reading about 20.
It wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, because every page had lots of detail and was actually about something. You know how some books can have a chapter filled with stuff that made you think: “…That took me 30 minutes of my life that I’ll never get back”. This wasn’t like that at all. It just took so much time to finish it…

2171498

3. Scott Lynch: Red Seas Under Red Skies
Loved it… but, again, a similar situation as the one with Deadhouse Gates. The only difference was that this one was only about 750 pages (easy peasy after a book like Deadhouse Gates right?). In the end it took me about 1 month to finish it (I think… time, who cares right :’))

 

 

6250211

4. Kristin Cashore: Fire.
After reading the first part I expected about the same from Fire. It didn’t really work out in my opinion.
Eventually it took me less than a month (it might have been three weeks or so) to read it from start to finish.

 

 

28795664

5. Sally Mitchell: Eden, the Eighth Day.
This book took me about 1 month the read. It took me one week to even finish the first chapter. I was trying to get out of my reading slump at the time, and this book didn’t really make me want to come out of it.
The only reason why I was able to read it in a month was because I had the idea that it might get better after the halfway point, instead it became worse. Even though I managed to read the last 25% in two days, it wasn’t because of the good quality rather than the absolutely absurd turn of events. It wasn’t all that good…

 


This is my top 5 of books that took me the longest to finish. What are the books on your top 5? Have you read any of the books I listed above?

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

  1. Some people absolutely love this book —> Hiiiiiiiii! 😉 I was expecting Outlander to be on this list as well, but then though you didn’t finish it of course :’).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh, how many megabytes of space does WordPress give us? I could probably just about fill a book with the books I’ve dipped into over my life, and out again, planning to read but never doing so. Examples – the Bible, the Koran, Pepys Diaries, All of Shakespeare’s Plays ……, and of course, several series, which I’ve decided not to read after the first or second volume. They’re not all physically on my ‘nightstand’ but probably somewhere in a bookcase, in a closet or in a box in the attic. I don’t like throwing books away.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

