Books

D.F. Dinoso: Fierce Winds Rising

26222631

Author: D.F. Dinoso
Genre: Fantasy
Pages kindle edition 389.
First book of the Tales of the Ersellian Winds series.
Published on September 1st 2015 by D.F. Dinoso.

War is inevitable when the lands of Vorostria and Lunara forge an alliance through marriage, to restore glory to their kingdoms.

In the mean time, the White Feather Company is preparing for the imminent threat. The company’s commander has to do everything in her power to keep her people, and the Republic of Isoldien, safe.

Who will prevail in the clash of steel and magic?

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

The Complete Blurb

“Dark skies loom over the continent of Ersellis.

The ambitious Artem Harroll, in pursuit of honour and distinction, sets a plan into motion to restore his family’s former glory.
The dutiful Seralynd Westerberg, desperate to bring her rapidly declining kingdom back to prosperity, decides on a rash course of action that will forever shape her destiny. Together, they forge an alliance that will shatter the balance of power in Ersellis and drag the continent to the brink of war.

In the neighbouring state, a group of elite mercenaries–the White Feather Company–prepare for the inevitable conflict. Through the leadership of their commander, the fiery Rosamund Red, they tackle formidable tasks to secure the future of their company and safeguard the Republic of Isoldien, their employer.

As the fierce winds of the coming storm rise, those who are wise enough scheme and maneuver to advance their personal interests. Steel and magic will collide in a deadly game of wits. Who will prevail, and who will be forgotten? In the midst of chaos, strength and resolve will be tested, nameless heroes will fulfil their duties, and the commoners will endure. For some, it is business as usual.” – Book’s webpage.

Wow, this book really took me a lot of time to get through. It wasn’t completely the fault of the book, it was also because of school and work and procrastination and the like.

Let’s talk about the world building first, since that was one thing that I really did like.
There are maps that can come in handy, but I found that I didn’t really need them to begin with. It was quite clear through the descriptions that were given in book where everything was, and how the world itself looked like. There were the mountains, rivers, forest, grand cities. One thing I love about detail is how a contrast can be created between two or more regions/lands/kingdoms/countries. That is what happened here as well and I can really appreciate that because I shows how every country in itself can be divided.
A definite plus of the world building: magic.
Unfortunately there wasn’t that much time devoted to the topic, but enough to know that it is at least accepted in most countries that were highlighted in the book. I thought it was great that the author showed that magic costs energy, that no one has an endless supply of it. The more intensive the spell is, the higher the price to pay.
I also loved the tournaments and the sword fighting in the book, unfortunately that plus leads to a minus. It is difficult to explain, but it is often so that when I read an action scene including sword fighting and the like, I really get hooked to the story. That unfortunately didn’t happen here. Is was like I was hearing that this happened from someone who heard it had happened from someone else, it was just not what I expected it would be.
So far, there was also not that much background history on the world, but I hope that that will be expended in the sequel.

Leaving the world building, let’s talk about the characters.
One thing is for sure, there were a lot of characters… a lot. At the start there were a couple of points of view, something I don’t really mind because it gives me a much broader image of the events. However, when I was about halfway through (I think) when there was another p.o.v added, and later on two more were added. Now that I’ve finished the book, I think I understand why there were so many points of view (I do hope that some of them will play a role in the sequel), but it was overwhelming and sometimes even unnecessary. It would have been better if there would have been one omniscient narrator. Maybe there was one, but it wasn’t quite clear. In any case, I’m really glad that there was no first person narrator… God, that would have been terrible for some of the characters.
I will not discuss every character because there are to many to discuss, but I will tell you the one I liked most and the one I truly detested.

  • Most liked? Hard to say really. I still like Vil Stonebrook the most I think.
    He’s one of the members of the White Feather Company and just a great guy. He is really down to earth, has his past, knows what he’s doing and is just a great character. I enjoyed the pieces of the story written in his point of view the most because of what I just said about his character.
  • There is no debate about who I disliked most: Seralynd.
    I thought that she was the most irritating, whiny, childish and just downright annoying character in the book. Yes, I know, she’s only seventeen and she gets married, but she was prepared to be a queen her entire life right? At least she should have showed a little decorum. Instead she acts like a spoiled child. She’s also portrayed as being very smart, since she reads a lot, but that doesn’t really reflect in her actions.

Last thing about the characters before moving on: I truly think it is a shame that there were so many characters, because there was not as much development as I would have liked there to be.

The writing was alright, nothing all to special however. There were moments that could have been more interesting if they were written in a different way (like the fighting scenes), while on the other hand there were other scenes that were more intense. But, I already suggested this when I talked about the characters, it would have been better if there would’ve been a clear omniscient narrator. Someone else mentioned in a review that there was to much swearing going on. Personally, I didn’t feel like that at all. Maybe it’s just because I swear a lot, but mostly it’s just because I really couldn’t care any less about the amount of swearing in a novel.

All in all, I think this was a decent book if I look objectively and don’t let me hatred of Seralynd influence me. The world building was quite good, there was enough detail to keep me interested, the magic really made the books for me. I really think it’s a shame that there are so many characters, and that there could have been more development if the writing would’ve been different, but most characters were entertaining.
Taking all of this into account I will give this book 2.5 out of five stars, because I liked some parts, but I wasn’t over the moon about the entire work.

rating systemrating systemrating system.5

3 thoughts on “D.F. Dinoso: Fierce Winds Rising

Leave a Reply

