Awards and Tags

This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours Book Tag

thisismtgenrenrwlogo

Welcome to the Cindy Edition of the: This Is My Genre Tell Me Yours Book Tag!

A great applause for Anne @Inked Brownies for tagging me, and I want thundering applause for Drew @ The Tattooed Book Geek. Drew created this tag, and if you don’t know him yet: do take a look at his blog! It’s beautiful and full of things connected to the genre that I like most: Fantasy, and of course more! Here’s a little something about Drew’s Blog:

“I am an avid reader who has decided to venture into the world of blogging (March 5th 2016 was my first post) to post reviews of the books I read, Fantasy is my favourite genre but I also read Post-Apocalyptic, Zombie, Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Crime/Thriller and Mystery and anything else that catches my eye.

While this is a book blog, with a lot of poetry that I write there will also be occasional bookish musings from me and also the possibility of some gaming and music related posts, though I must stress that first and foremost this will be and is a book blog with poetry.” – The Tattooed Book Geek

The Rules:

  • Credit badass Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek as the creator of the tag, either use the created tag name graphic or create your own and link back to his blog
  • Answer the questions
  • Tag as many people as you want

The Questions

1). What’s your favourite genre?

FANTASY ALL THE WAY! (and historical fiction… but mostly fantasy).

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor nuff said gif

2). Who’s your favourite author from the genre?
I don’t do one favourite author… I have more than one. Really, how can you possibly chose between the awesome fantasy writers that are out there?! There’s J. R. R. Tolkien, Robin Hobb, Steven Erikson, Raymond E. Feist, David Eddings, Naomi Novik, and all those other awesome folks out there! No, I don’t have a favourite other, I  think I love almost all of them.

3). What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?
The endless possibilities. The fact that reality is altered all the way, or just a tiny bit, so that you’re in a world that is not like our own at all. Not only that, it’s so amazing how every other is able to create a world that is so much like another and simultaneously so different from every other word. Yes, some things are identical in most fantasy books, but they are also unique in their own way. Fantasy gives a writer space to explore everything basically.
And clichés, most clichés are just awesome ^_^

4). What’s the book that started your love for your favourite genre?
I honestly don’t know… I remember that when I started to read books on my own, that I read about horses, and about a girl who wanted to dance (who was also called Cindy). Later on I think I gradually moved towards fantasy to look for something that would capture me. When I was in my last year of primary school (I must have been 11) I started the read The Northern Lights by Philip Pullman, I think that that book did it for me back then. After that it was Daran Shan and stuff like that, but also fairy tales… Yeah… Now that I think of it, Fairy Tales must have done it for me from the moment my parents read them to me.

5). If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

via GIPHY

At least one :’) Ha ha, nice joke.

I think I’ll stick with four (I have a thing for even numbers) so here we go:

  1. Still so new to the genre that you don’t know what to do with yourself? Start something ‘easy’ and maybe a little relatable to our world or history.

    Temeraire series by Naomi Novik (covers)
    (source of the image is http://www.erinreads.com)

    This series is simply amazing. You’ll be thrown into the Napoleonic Era, but it’s filled with dragons.

  2. Not that into dragons? No reason for breaking a sweat! There are tons of series you could try (Yes, I really like series). David Eddings for example.
    Afbeeldingsresultaat voor Elenium series covers david eddings
    This is a really easy series to read. There’s humour, medieval influences, quests, love, you name it. This series  only exists of three books, and they’re not that long either. Win-win I’d say.
  3. Do you want something more advanced and even more otherworldly? Do read the series of Raymond E. Feist. Yes, all of them. He has a couple of shorter series of about three books, and the things is; read them in the proper order and you have one large a.f. series! He’s an amazing writer and will take you to not only one other world, but multiple, and through time as well.
    Afbeeldingsresultaat voor raymond e feist
  4. Last, but not least, are you willing to dive into this series head-first without being scared of drowning? Read one of the master pieces of all times (with the risk of really wanting to murder at least one of the characters?) Read:
    Afbeeldingsresultaat voor jrr tolkien books
    Need I say more?

6). Why do you read?
My reason is actually quite simple: I think that there’s already enough reality around me in everyday life. I don’t want to be confronted with that when I’m reading, because I read for fun and not because I want to be taught some moral lesson or another. Yes, that can happen in a fantasy book as well, but it is also just a story if you want it to be. I love the feeling of being in another world for a couple of hours, because that makes reality bearable for me.
And what is there not to love about reading? Reading is just amazing in so many ways ^_^ Even smelling books makes me feel so happy hahaha Yes, I’m just weird that way.


Now, tagging time! I tag:

Do feel free to do the tag even if you are not tagged! 😀


What is your favourite genre? And why? Leave your reactions in the comment section below!

17 thoughts on “This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours Book Tag

  1. Thanks for the awesome shout out at the start of the tag.😀

    Awesome answers, high praise for Hobb and Erikson, two amazing authors!

    Damn right that reading is both fun and awesome!😀

    To true about fantasy, endless possibilities and even when it’s similar it’s different to.

    LOL at cliches are awesome, “whispers quietly” – I have a humorous post planned for Sunday looking at some overused cliches/tropes in fantasy!😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. High fives!! ^^ I haven’t read anything by Naomi Novik yet, but I shall have to change that sooooon! And yeah, fuck cliches, if I want to escape into another world, I might as well be familiar with some of the characters already right? XD Pointy ears? Check -> Elf.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Awesome answers Cindy! I could not agree more with ” The fact that reality is altered all the way, or just a tiny bit, so that you’re in a world that is not like our own at all” …this alone makes me want to run (on a day like today) to a nice big Fantasy book. I’ve neglected them for far too long 😦 I have Uprooted by Naomi Novak, if I enjoy it I will probably pick up her other ongoing Fantasy series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have now read a few responses to this tag and must say I admire the way everyone tackles it. I would be very hard pushed indeed to come up with decisive answers to the questions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

