Movie & TV Show Reviews

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them- Movie Review

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor fantastic beasts and where to find them

  • Written by
    J.K. Rowling
  • Fantasy/Urban Fantasy
  • Released in the Netherlands 17-11-2016
  • Directed by
    David Yates

 

 

This review can contain spoilers!

Last Saturday, I went to the cinema (with the boyfriend) to watch Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. To be honest, I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did because, damn, this was an awesome film! So, because I feel like doing this for once, I decided to write a post that would make you all wish you could see this film 😀

This film is just right in the childhood!

J.K. Rowling was able to capture me, again… what else did I expect, by letting me join the journey back to the wizarding world of New York during the ‘roaring’ 1920’s.
New York was, yet again, on the verge of destruction, but this time the reason was not a petty human war (kind of… maybe… that’s actually up for debate :’)) There is a reason why Fantastic Beasts are no longer permitted in New York, however, it seems like not all of the beasts were successfully ousted. One of those beasts is destroying New York, just as our protagonist enters the tale: Newt Scamander (see image), who happens to carry a suitcase filled with Fantastic Beasts… and some of them might have escaped. Yeah, that is a problem. But, luckily, Newt is not alone in trying to find his precious cargo! He has with him a disgraced Macusa (New York magical squad, or something like it. Really, quite a difficult name to remember after all the awesomeness) employee Porpentina Goldstein (who is currently doing something that concerns paper), her sister Queenie, and last but not least: Jacob Kowalski, a no-maj! (it’s a muggle, but in American… let’s not talk about it). Let’s make one thing very clear:

This is a perfect prequel to the Harry Potter series.

I think that the film was just great. Everything had its place, a function in the film, and brought something to it, not really an overload of useless information or anything like that.
There are very few connections to what we have already seen in Harry Potter. Yeah, that’s obvious, Cindy! You’ll probably be thinking right now. It’s 70 years before the whole Harry Potter thing, what else did you expect?! I didn’t expect much :’) But, that’s not why I made the remark. I said it because I think that it’s a good thing that there are so few connections with the Harry potter series, simply because it gives the space that this series needs to stand on its own (and be awesome a.f.). Like I said, the characters were all so strong, everything had its, a function, and brought something of its own to the film, making it so awesome and special. It’s the introduction to an entire new part of the wizarding universe!

Now, I will not say anything else. But, I do want to reveal the ultimate, most perfect, my all-time favourite character of this film:

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor fantastic beasts and where to find them niffler

Go to the cinema and go watch this film! Really, you won’t regret it…

there is food, the 1920’s atmosphere, cute beasties…

come on…what more can you possibly want?!

Here’s the trailer, W-A-T-C-H I-T:


If you already saw the film: What did you think? Who’s your all-time favourite character? And most importantly: do you also want such a suitcase… because I know I do. Leave your answers in the comment section below!

3 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them- Movie Review

  1. I liked it well enough (will post a review on Wed) but I read that it be a five-part series, and I think that is over kill. Plus, I did not like the actor who is revealed at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

