Laini Taylor: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Laini Taylor: Daughter of Smoke and Bone; Dreams of Gods and Monsters

24527941Author: Laini Taylor
Genre: Fantasy
Paperback: 613 pages
First published 17 April 2014 by Hodder & Stoughton

(small part of) Goodreads Synopsis
From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy. At the very barriers of space and time, what do gods and monsters dream of ? And does anything else matter?

โ€œWorld peace for dinner,” mused Mik, scratching his beard stubble. “Does that come with fries?”
“It freaking better,” said Zuzana. “Or I will send it freaking back.โ€

This book… I just don’t know what to do with it really. It was great in many ways, but it was also less great in other ways.

There were actually two things that I had issues with:
– the amount of new characters that were introduced (some literally out of the blue)
– something else that I’ll put between warning signs

Before I really start this review I will say this: It’s not going to be an elaborate one because it’s so easy to spoil so much of this book. I will also say beforehand that I will definitely end this review on a positive note because the book was captivating and thrilling.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters continues where Days of Blood and Starlight left us; in the Kirin Caves of Eretz. However, there’s not only the usual Karou/Akiva/Zuzane/Ziri/Liraz/other person perspective. All of a sudden, there are some random human points of view added to this book and the Stelians get to play a larger part in this last book as well. What I am trying to say is; there already were quite a number of points of view, and here there were even more added to the whole, making it a little bit too much for me. I only have a minor issue with this because it all made sense and it was well written… but it was just a little too much at times.

*Warning! Warning!ย  spoiler ahead*

The other thing is the ‘the end is only the beginning’ thing that’s going on here. Truly I love long series, nothing wrong with it, but if there is an ending, please do make it an ending, and don’t make it the start of another story.
I mean, I totally get it, that there’s much more to happen than has already happened… but don’t give me some sort of an ending like 60 pages before the book is done, only to kick me in the face by NOT making it an ending and adding more to it… resulting in, well, not really an ending. I’ll not elaborate here, because there might be more spoilers if I do. You simply have to read and the book yourself and decide if you agree with me here.

No more danger from here on.

Now, this is not really an issue, but I am a little conflicted about this. What I’m talking about here is the character development. With some characters, it was absolutely wonderfully done. They grew and developed like they should, but other characters didn’t, and I was a little disappointed there. This tiny spark of disappointment was encouraged by the addition of the new characters in this book. Like I said before, for me it felt like there were just too many characters in ‘focus’ in this book.

But, there were definitely good things!

As I said, I really do want to end on a positive note and here’s it: This book was captivating, thrilling, full of happy (and truly sad) moments. It was like an emotional roller coaster.
This book is a good ending of this series. I might have some issues with it, but it’s a good thing that these issues were there, otherwise the series would not have ended in a ‘natural’ way (do I make sense here?).

This book was a good ending of a great series that was written so very well, had great world building, and had a wonderful (yes, also in a fairy tale kind of way) story line. And even though the character development wasn’t always that great, I felt touched by everything that happened in this final book (yes, even the damned drama), and the book was able to keep me hooked until the end. I am sure that not everyone agrees with my minor issues with this book, but they did influence my rating and so I will give this book 4 stars.

rating systemrating systemrating systemrating system


Have you read this book? What did you think? Leave your thoughts in the comment section below!

5 thoughts on “Laini Taylor: Daughter of Smoke and Bone; Dreams of Gods and Monsters

  1. Haha, thanks for the spoiler warning otherwise I would have read right through the review. ๐Ÿ˜„ I’m glad that you loved this series as much as you did. I haven’t even started Daughter of Smoke and Bone yet, but I have witnessed Taylor’s beautiful writing before (she wrote a short story for the summer anthology, Summer Days and Summer Nights), and liked her strong writing voice. Anyway, nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the first book years ago, but I never continued the series. I think it might have been a little too angsty for me, at the time. But I’ve always been curious about the next books, so thanks for rounding out the series here! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

