Movie & TV Show Reviews

Assassin’s Creed – Film Review

Directed by Justin Kurzel.
Released in the Netherlands 5 January 2017
Viewed 16 January 2017

By 20th Century Fox:

Through Abstergo a company that creates a revolutionary technology that unlocks his genetic memories, Callum Lynch (Michael Fassbender) experiences the memories of his ancestor, Aguilar de Nerha, in 15th Century Spain. Callum discovers he is descended from a mysterious secret society, the Assassins and Templars, and amasses incredible knowledge and skills to take on the oppressive and powerful Templar organization in the present day.

This review can contain spoilers.

“We work in the dark to serve the light. We are assassins.
Nothing is true, everything is permitted.”

Last Monday I persuaded the boyfriend to go to the cinema with me, because (even though he is the gamer in our relationship) I really really wanted to see this film (I mean come one, honestly, who doesn’t like a film that is half in the present and half during the Spanish Inquisition?!).
As most of you will probably already know, this film is based on the game: Assassin’s Creed. When I entered the cinema, I was brave enough to ask one of the employees what most people thought of the film, and he said that there were a lot of mixed feelings. In the end, I might have to agree with that.

The action in this film was absolutely amazing (parcour is awesome :D), and it was just great to see it all that on the big screen. I also really appreciated that the people 15th century Spain actually spoke Spanish. The first 2/3 of the film were actually really entertaining and captivating. Cal nearly escapes death, only to become a part of a centuries long battle between two organisations, and find out that he has always belonged to one of those. The sci-fi/historical fiction combination worked out quite well in this part of the film.
The last third, however, felt a little lacking to me. Things went to fast and sometimes it wasn’t quite clear why/how things happened. Maybe it is because I haven’t played the game, and so I didn’t know the background (the boyfriend did play the game, so he filled me in on a couple of occasions), but I think things could have been explained a little better here and there.

I have read an abundance of negative reviews about this film, and I do not agree with those. For someone who hasn’t played the game, it was quite entertaining, and definitely not bad. Sometimes it was a bit vague (‘where did the Apple come from?’ for instance, or ‘who the **** are the Elders?’, ‘Why are they suddenly in London?!’, and the occasional ‘BUT WHY?!’), but other than that it was just an entertaining film, with lots of action that is great to see on the big screen.

If you haven’t seen the film yet, you can watch the trailer below. Are you thinking; ‘Is this film really worth my money, and time, though?’, I’d say: ‘If you like action, a touch of sci-fi, and some historical fiction, definitely yes. Just don’t analyse the film, and enjoy it.’


If you’ve already seen the film; What did you think? Was it worth your while? And if you haven’t seen the film; Do you still want to see it? If yes; On the big screen yes or no, and why? If no; why not? Leave your thoughts in the comment section below!

14 thoughts on “Assassin’s Creed – Film Review

  1. I was thinking of reading the books… and I’ll probably watch the film (as I’ve seen hubby playing the game as well) but I really don’t dig Michael Fassbender… sigh πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

      1. πŸ˜€ That’s why he got the role- not much speaking? OK, I’m just being mean πŸ˜€ I’ll defo watch it at some stage and maybe even like it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll watch this at some point, since I love the AC games and I love Fassbender. Unfortunately I’ve just been burned way too many times by movies based on my favorite games, so this one will probably be a wait-for-video for me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Alright then! I can imagine the feeling… I have it every time they decide to make a great book/series into a film or tv show. Hope you like it when you eventually do watch it ^^

      Like

  3. i have seen so many negative comments it is great to see a positive review. I was so looking forward to this film I definitely want to see it .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with your review completely! As a fan of the games I had fun watching this, and the action scenes were pretty awesome πŸ™‚ It would have been nicer to spend more time with the assassins though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

