Books

Dylan Madeley: The Crown Princess’ Voyage ARC

feb-20-book-2-revisionAuthor: Dylan Madeley
Genre: Fantasy
ARC edition +- 268 pages
To be published May 2017

Synopsis from Squareonecomics.com/dylanmadeley:

Chandra’s been pushed to her wits’ end trying to keep the peace in Kensrik, the world’s largest empire; trying to spare the lives of subjects who don’t necessarily want to be ruled, who have difficulty viewing her reign as legitimate. For all her efforts, they may just banish her from Kensrik and embrace uncertainty.
Except it’s not just Kensrik facing a new and dire threat, one to whom the past conspirators threatening Chandra were mere puppets. No one has any idea what’s about to hit them, and no place in the world will be safe.

I received a free copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect the contents of my review, or my opinion.

This book continues where The Gift-Knight’s Quest ended (click the link to view my review of TGKQ). The Crown Princess’ Voyage (TCPV) is the sequel in this series, and it would be a challenge to understand this book without having read the prequel. In this book familiar characters return, and new characters are introduced, in order to get us to (what I believe) will be the third and all revealing final book of this series.

In this book, the world is even more expanded, and everything becomes more complex throughout this book. Countries/areas that were only named in TGKQ are described in more detail, as are the cultures and histories of this world. Of course, there is still the medieval setting that I really like, but it becomes slightly more interesting now that there appears to be another angle (either sorcery or ‘technological’ like, I’m not sure how to describe it).

Also, like I mentioned before, in TCPV the characters we’re already familiar with return, and new characters are introduced. In TGKQ, there were different points of view in different times, making things somewhat confusing to read at times. TCPV introduces new characters, but luckily in the same time period, and so things only become more interesting. The interesting additional p.o.v is that of Alathea, a self proclaimed Goddess from a Coast nation, who is ready to show her face (that’s all you get from me *evil laugh*). This gives the reader two strong female characters who are alike in many ways, and are both willing to do whatever it takes to achieve their goals.
I also have to say that this time I was less troubled by the many points of view. Why? Well, first of all everything happened in the same time period, like I already mentioned, which prevented the confusion that I felt while reading TGKQ. Secondly, these points of view felt more as a contribution to the story, instead of just being there for the sake of being there. Lastly, some of the points of view were dropped or temporarily cut off, making room for new ones that were needed at that point, and making sure that it wasn’t too crowded in the p.o.v. department.
Still, there is the matter of character development that I was struggling with in TGKQ. I thought that there might be character development, but that it just as well might not be there. I’m still incline to agree with that statement because I felt like there was more time spent on introducing the new characters, than on the development of the old ones. Yes, things change, but do the characters themselves really change?

Overall, this book was a good sequel. It got rid of one of the things I had an issue with in TGKQ, it kept me interested, the world building was continued, and now that I’ve finished I can’t wait to get my hands on the last book (if this is to be a trilogy). Honestly, this book feels like it is here to prepare me for a lot of awesomeness to come, and I hope that in the final everything will come together with a bang. I give this book 3.5 stars, because I did like it, but I still feel like it can be more.

rating systemrating systemrating systemrating system.5

2 thoughts on “Dylan Madeley: The Crown Princess’ Voyage ARC

    1. I know right! The world building was great. I really like how that doesn’t all happen in the first book. The world building develops with the story and that’s really fitting in this case.

      Like

Leave a Reply

