Top 5 of...

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Underrated Books

top-5-wednesday

Good day and welcome to another glorious Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by Lainey from  gingerreadslainey, and is hosted by Sam from ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to take a look at the Goodreads group, and perhaps even want to join, you can click this link.

Almost done with January already?! How is that even possible? Anyhow, this Top 5 Wednesday is al about those underrated books, the hidden gems of our bookish paradise. This week’s guidelines are quite easy to follow (I hope):

“Give some love to those books that aren’t as widely talked about. Those hidden gems. Those books that maybe used to be popular but people have forgotten about and they still deserve some love.”

This being said; let’s look at the five books that I consider to be underrated and not widely talked about. (And for some reason I spy a common feature in this list.) The images in this post are from Goodreads, the links will redirect you to the Goodreads page.

  1. Wolfsangel by M.D. Lachlan. Yes, I know, I don’t have a review of this one because I read this before my blogging days. But, it was an awesome read, and as far as I know it’s not widely known. Vikings, historical fiction, mythology, can life get any better than that?
  2. Thunder God by Paul Watkins. Again, another read from my pre-blogging days, but luckily I left behind a short “Loved it!” on Goodreads. It was very interesting, though a little too fast paced at times, and it was so horrible that it was a standalone.
  3. Here, There Be Dragons by James A. Owen. Well, what a coincidence! Another pre-blogging days read. This time though, it’s not about vikings. No, every story that you’ve ever been told, is real. Awesome read.
  4. The Silver Brumby by Elyne Mitchell. Old, but gold. Back in the day when I was this tiny girl with wild, curly hair, I really really wanted to have my own horse. This book was my companion for years, and I remember having read it about 4/5 times. Every re-read was different since there were a couple of years between the re-reads. Good times…
  5. The Winter King by Bernard Cornwell. I can’t make a list like this without at least one Bernard Cornwell novel on it. G-R-E-A-T book, I can’t stretch it enough. Do you like English history, King Arthur, Merlin, and all the mystery around those people?: READ THIS.

6892166129427834908118057468520


This is my Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Underrated Books. Are any of these books on your list? If yes, do you consider them to be underrated? But most importantly; which books do you consider to be underrated hidden gems? Please let me know in the comment section below!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Underrated Books

Leave a Reply

