Books

Carol Maloney Scott: Rom-Com on the Edge; Dazed & Divorced

32764745Author: Carol Maloney Scott
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Kindle Edition 231 pages
Published 24 October 2016

Goodreads Synopsis
It’s been almost twenty years since Claire met her ex in high school, and now she finds herself thrust into the dating world for the first time as an adult, armed with little more than confusion and lack of experience.
As Claire becomes more depressed over her plight, her best friend Jane prompts her to redirect her maternal longings by adopting an adorable wiener dog puppy.

Unfortunately, while Claire is trying to move on, Ron is trying to pull her back into the past, and his life.

I voluntarily received a copy from the author. This does not affect the contents of my review, or my opinion.

 “I know this looks bad, but I am not drunk and sitting on the floor in front of the refrigerator, at my best friend’s house, in front of her little girl.” -Claire, Chapter one.

This is how the protagonist is introduced in the first chapter. No, she’s not drunk because she isn’t drinking alcohol. Claire isn’t drunk because her friend Jane doesn’t  make her Pina Coladas (also known as: happy juice) very strong. Claire just isn’t having the best of times. Even though she’s all ready for a fresh start, things just don’t work out the way she hoped they would.

Dazed & Divorced is the first book by Carol Maloney Scott that I’ve read, and I found it an easy and enjoyable read. The situations that occur in the book are both funny, and relatable, and some are downright hilarious.
This book was really accessible because the writing was pleasant, and everything that happened fits with the genre. It is important to remember that this is a romantic comedy, and so there will inevitably be situation of which you might think; ‘Really? I mean really? Did you just fall for that?’. But other than that, this book was an enjoyable read.

At the start of the book, I was a little taken aback because I had the idea that the book was written with several first person points of view. First, there was Claire, then Jane, and later Ron.
I was a little scared at that point, but luckily the rest of the book was only written from 2 points of view: Claire and Ron. This was really confronting because it creates a bond with the characters. For example, I would have detested Ron right from the beginning if this book would have been written entirely from Claire’s point of view. But, I didn’t. Instead, I felt a little sorry for Ron. Yes, he still acted like an ass sometimes, but at least I could sympathise with him. Of course he can rot in a dark place in hell for all I care, but for a second there I felt sorry for the guy.
Claire’s point of view made the story ever so relatable. I think I’m not the only one who would sympathize with a woman in her situation. And yes, even though I laughed about the bizarreness of some of the scenes, her point of view was really touching. I’ve read some reviews that state; she has no backbone. Maybe she doesn’t, but for someone who has been in a relationship with one man since high school, I think she’s holding up quite well. Some people just don’t work all to well on their own, and Claire is such a person. And besides, it’s not so hard to imagine that she’d want to see the best in the man she’s been with for 20 years. Of course she would give him a chance if he proved to her that he’s changed… it’s just such a shame that Ron is someone who’s not likely to ever change.

The rest of this series was written before Dazed & Divorced appeared last year, and so this book gives a unique insight in to how Claire became who she is later on in the series. Personally, I’m curious to see how she develops throughout the series.

In short:
Dazed & Divorced was an easy and enjoyable read. The writing was pleasant, and the book was very fitting with the genre. There were situations of every kind which made this book funny, relatable, and sometimes downright hilarious. The fact that this book was mainly written in two different first person point of views, created a bond with the characters, and made this book quite confronting. I give this book 3.5 stars.

rating systemrating systemrating systemrating system.5

Leave a Reply

