Movie & TV Show Reviews

Netflix: A Series of Unfortunate Events; Thoughts after episode 5 & 6 (The Wide Window)

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor a series of unfortunate events netflix

This post will contain spoilers about episode 5 & 6 of A Series of Unfortunate Events
(the Netflix series)

Alright… Honestly, I think this will be a very short post.

I don’t have that much to say about it because I’ve tried to watch these two episodes with some interest, but I just couldn’t. For some reason The Wide Window wasn’t as interesting as the other episodes I’ve seen so far.

I have to day though that Josephine was played by a great actress, and that the fact that she was always on the verge of complete hysteria, was amazing.
Of course, there were other amusing things in these episodes, and some things were even brutal, but other than that… I wasn’t all that interested.

My favourite scene is most definitely the scene near the end of episode 6, when Mr. Poe finally discovers that the captain is count Olaf. While Mr. Poe is talking to count Olaf, the children sneak away, and when he turns around to see the children; count Olaf and his entourage slip away (again). In the end, he is left all alone, and that was funny and sad at the same time. So yes, I did feel for the little guy at that moment.

Now that I am nearing the end of the season I really do want to know how this is going to end. It’s just a shame that these two episodes didn’t really work for me.

(For a complete summary/full review on a.v club click here).


What did you think of these two episodes? Were you, like me, not that interested? Or did you actually really like The Wide Window? Do let me know in the comment section below! Next Saturday (yes, I’ve decided to simply say Saturday), my thoughts on the last two episodes of this season! I really hope that it’s going to be a blast.

4 thoughts on “Netflix: A Series of Unfortunate Events; Thoughts after episode 5 & 6 (The Wide Window)

  1. I haven’t watched very far yet, just the first two episodes, because my son is reading the series and wants to finish before he watches, so I’m waiting for him. So far I find them pretty charming, but the whole book series, which I read several years ago, is charming and so very intriguing. Then I felt like the last book didn’t deliver on the many promises made by the previous ones. I hope the Netflix series will handle that better eventually. Even if it doesn’t, I think it’s well worth watching, just as the series was worth reading. I’m looking forward to finishing it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely worth watching! And of course opinions can differ, and that’s a great thing. I do think that reading the books can give you a head start. I didn’t read them (didn’t even know they existed), so maybe that was a disadvantage for me. I really hope you and your son will like the rest of the show!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

