Geen categorie · Movie & TV Show Reviews

Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge – Film Review

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor pirates of the caribbean 5 salazar's revenge

Released in the Netherlands 24 May 2017.
Viewed 25 May 2017.

Storyline (by IMDB)

Captain Jack Sparrow finds the winds of ill-fortune blowing even more strongly when deadly ghost pirates led by his old nemesis, the terrifying Captain Salazar, escape from the Devil’s Triangle, determined to kill every pirate at sea…including him. Captain Jack’s only hope of survival lies in seeking out the legendary Trident of Poseidon, a powerful artefact that bestows upon its possessor total control over the seas.

This Review can contain spoilers.

There it was, the 5th film of Pirates of the Caribbean. Promises were made. Orlando Bloom was going to be there, Keira Knightley, Sir Paul McCartney, and a creepy looking villain. It had everything. There was a new hope after the drama thaBut it wasn’t entirely meant to be (at least for me).

The film wasn’t that bad! Don’t get me wrong. It had its fun parts as always, and I do have to admit that I went to the cinema with some crazy expectations. But even though I should’ve known better, I still felt disappointed at the end.

Let’s first cover the things that I did like about this film. As usual, I appreciated the humour. Even though other people said some of the it was too easy, resulting in their dislike, I liked it at times. Maybe it’s because I am a little easy to entertain, but I liked the humour nonetheless.
There was also nothing but love for the new main female character, Carina. I liked her character and her somewhat independence. Her role brought some new humour into the film together with some unexpected scenes and a couple of revelations that even got to me a little bit.
Of course, there is also still my all time favourite character: Barbossa. He hasn’t let me down yet and he didn’t let me down in Salazar’s Revenge. How I love that guy.
Lastly, all the special effects and detail. I mean you cannot deny this! That is one of the few things in which this film series is consistent; great special effects and detail. The creepiness of the dead men *shudders* still can’t shake it.

It seems like my list of positive things has come to an end. Now, I’ll explain why I felt disappointed after watching this film.
Let’s get things straight: I don’t know in which year this film is set, but St. Maarten island belonged to the Dutch and French for a considerable time. It shifted hands a couple of times in the 19th century, but I’m confident that Salazar’s Revenge is not set in the 19th century. (For more on the history of St. Maarten, click here). This being said I realise that it is not meant to be historically correct, but there is no real reason why the English are on the island in the first place. So yes, this got to me a little bit (maybe because I’m Dutch, I don’t know).
Another disappointment for me was the complete story actually, or rather the lack thereof. For some unknown reason, it seemed as if the directors decided to just stop following the previously set out storyline and just alter almost everything. Most things didn’t add up anymore.  Certain things that we learned in the previous films were simply not there, maybe because they forgot that these things existed or maybe because they chose to ignore it. The feeling of consistency that was present during the first three films had already evaporated when On Stranger Tides came into being, but now there wasn’t even a hint of consistency left (except for some members of the old crew). Even the reason for their ‘quest’ came out of the blue and seemed a little ridiculous.
Also, even though I liked the villain as a character, it just came out of nowhere. The entire story of where he came from and how Salazar became what he was in the film was full of holes, and quite frankly; it didn’t even seem to make any sense.

Even though there were some pretty decent actors in this film, it didn’t do it for me. There were some things that I liked, and maybe it’s because I had some crazy expectations, but overall I feel like it was on the brink of being a disaster. For some reason, I had hoped that this film would make up for the previous one… However, it turned out to be even less pleasant to watch than On Stranger Tides.
I am not going to talk about the role of Jack Sparrow. This is simply because there are already enough people saying it; he is simply not what he used to be. He has lost his charm and right after I left the cinema I even heard some people saying that they have lost their sympathy for him. And I have to say that I agree with this.

Though it seemed to be the end of the Pirates of the Caribbean film series nothing is less far from the truth. Unfortunately, there is a sixth part coming. Maybe it’s too early to say ‘unfortunately’, but honestly, I’ve lost all hope. That sixth part must be extremely good and way better than Salazar’s Revenge for me to ever watch it.

Salazar’s Revenge… how disappointed I was. I’m not even going to rate this film because I think it’s not really rateable. If you want to watch it, you should, but I recommend that you wait until it appears on Netflix because, unless you have an undying urge to see this film, it’s not really worth it in my opinion.

If you have not seen the movie yet and are still in doubt, watch the trailer below. 


Have you seen the film already? If yes, what did you think? And would you recommend it to anyone? Leave your thoughts in the comment section below!

5 thoughts on “Pirates of the Caribbean: Salazar’s Revenge – Film Review

  1. I would put Salazar’s Revenge in the same bracket as On Stranger Tides. The story was so convoluted, Jack is a shadow of his former self in terms of character depth, and god knows who the British Empire leaders were called!
    I think if they did away with some of the tropes that they used all the time: undead army (how many are there?!), chasing a legend/myth, and actually spent time on the characters rather than action for every scene, the next film will be a significant improvement, and they might even squeeze another out of it haha! 🙂
    Here’s my review if you are interested | http://wp.me/p3AwwF-OF

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The thing with On Stranger Tides is that I felt like they actually spend time on the characters. I didn’t have that feeling with Salazar’s Revenge.
      I do agree with you about the whole trope thing. If they just chose 1 and focused on that it would all be fine, but it was a but much and not even worked out that well.
      Loved your review by the way!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just saw this one today- it was fun to watch, but you’re absolutely correct about the story line being not so great. I loved Carina!! Kinda cool that it’s called different things in different countries- in the U.S. it’s called Dead Men Tell No Tales.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I saw it a few weeks back and I have to say I liked it a lot more than the fourth one (that people tell me I’ve seen but I have no recollection of). Especially the first half of the movie felt very “Pirates” to me, but the second half, that was were all the inconsistencies and unnecessary things started to happen.

    A sixth one in the making? Don’t know how to feel about that. I definitely agree with you that they need to bring out something amazing for it! And it has to be amazing story-wise, not just visually.

    Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! ^^

      Hahahaha have no recollection of xD that’s brilliant :’) but yeah the first part was what we could expect from a Pirates film. It’s a shame that for some reason they decided to just stop with that. (Still, gotta love the opening scene with the bank).

      Let’s see what the sixth film brings us, but I’m not going to the cinema if it’s like this one that’s for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

